School History


In 1959, the era of Bowdoin’s many one-room school houses, such as Kingdom School shown here, came to an end. One school was established, and Bowdoin Central School opened its doors to 157 students in grades K-6. In naming the school, the word, “Central” had significant meaning. The original location of the school was exactly that, the crossroads of the community, the central location.

In 2002, the school’s location changed, but the word “Central” continues to carry meaning as its role in the community is such an integral part. Nestled into the sixty-five acres of rolling fields and a wooded backdrop, the school offers students and community members space for outdoor activities such as baseball, soccer or even snowshoeing across the fields and forests on a snowy winter’s day. The community is encouraged to use the building as well, providing a place for many activities such as scouts, recreational sports, and voting to name just a few.
Today, Bowdoin Central School enrolls a little over two hundred students with an average classroom size of 18 students. The school has approximately 40 staff members including classroom teachers, specialists and special education teachers, as well as various support staff. There is a small, but active parent teacher club, which meets in the school’s library the third Wednesday of every month from 6:30-8:30 p.m. Interested community members are always welcome!


Click here to learn more about the history of Bowdoin.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.